top of page
  • newmusicmuse

Grunge Pop Newcomer "Skeletosphere" Releases Refreshing New Single "Mean"

Updated: Mar 14, 2023


Skeletosphere is a Los Angeles grunge pop artist with a killer tone and inky aesthetic that evokes the magic of the 1990s shoegaze era in her music. Her newest single "Mean" is an enchanting slow burn track that lingers like a beautiful and bittersweet thought.









Who are some of your artistic inspirations or influences? How would you describe your style of music?



I would describe my music overall as alternative rock with grunge, punk, and shoegaze themes. I grew up on pop-punk and “in your face” kind of music, but as I got older I got more into grunge and shoegaze. I think the women in those genres have really guided the foundation of my own music because I relate so closely to their experiences of love and life. I think my influences of the past few years are definitely Hole, Veruca Salt, Slowdive, and Mazzy Star.



What inspired your newest release ‘Mean’?




Many of the lyrics of “Mean” detail different relationship experiences I had last year where the common denominator of their endings was something I said or did. I wrote the lyric “I could be mean when I mean it” first and the whole story came after that. The song takes a journey of blaming myself for being mean to people to realizing that the reason I do that is because of fear that they’d leave so I kind of push them away first. I have never released a song so honest before because I want most of my music to feel empowering, but it was empowering to me to show my thoughts in any way they come, even if they aren't always so pretty.


Which one of your lyrics do you find the most relatable to your own life?


My favorite lyric I have ever written, which is off a song that is yet to be released is “when it’s just me and I’m feeling alright, I hold the world up in a fist to the light. When it’s my fear

bringing the night, I kill me to be a star in the sky.” It toys with the ideas of light and dark, that when I feel invincible and that I have the world in my hands I want to show it off to everybody. But when I bring about my own feelings of gloom, I’d do anything to bring back any flicker of light. I think the lyric shows the kind of polarity that exists in my life’s perspective, and the song that it’s from touches even more on those feelings.




What can listeners expect from future releases?


I have an EP coming in the next few months! It is a really killer project I’ve gotten to work on with a bunch of friends who have really inspired me this past year. The songs are really cool and juxtapose all the feelings that come along with being a young woman new to the adult world – anger, fear, anxiety, the rush. I am really excited for everyone to hear it.







13 views0 comments
bottom of page