top of page
  • newmusicmuse

Exploring the Electronic Indie Scene with DJ GB



GB is a Los Angeles based DJ heavily influenced by the paradise sounds of Ibiza. He has lived in a variety of places from Spain, Singapore, and Atlanta. He introduces an ambient energy to his melodic techno music and has performed in clubs all over Los Angeles.


Ben: I’ve noticed that electronic music evokes a lot of emotion just through the instrumentals and synths. With that being said, what do you think drew you to becoming an electronic artist?


GB: When I was growing up I would spend a lot of my summers in Ibiza- where a lot of my family lives -I became immersed in the culture of house music. There’s quite a range- anywhere from deep house, techno to mainstream edm. Just to give you an idea, In Ibiza, there’s dj flyers everywhere, at restaurants and on the streets. This definitely sparked my interest in edm music and becoming a DJ. Also, Martin Garrix played a huge role in my journey of becoming a DJ, he became an icon to me after seeing him blow up at 18 years old from his hit song ‘Animals’.


Ben: That’s really cool. You mentioned Martin Garrix, is he one of the artists that inspires and influences your sound the most? If not just him, what other artists influence your sound?


GB: Martin Garrix is definitely the main reason why I started DJing and producing my own music but he’s the farthest from my sound. He does more mainstream EDM but I like to incorporate more of the Ibiza sounds in my music- deep house, afro house, and melodic techno. Artists that I pull influences from are Rufus Dü Sol, Anima, Cassian - that type of sound.


Ben: So it’s kind of like a paradise island vibe more rooted in techno.


GB: Yes, less mainstream and more underground. I tend to produce and perform more deep house, melodic house and some high tempo as well. As I mentioned before, the sound is straight from the vibrant energy of Ibiza because it’s been so consistent in my life.


Ben: Right. It’s really amazing how you pay homage to Ibiza and blend those influences into your music that you bring to California.


GB: Yeah, I’ve lived in so many places. I’ve lived in Madrid, Atlanta, Singapore, and now Los Angeles. But Ibiza is definitely the one place I can anchor myself to.


Ben: You’re set to release a new single called Lunar, what can you tell us about the concept and the sounds you're introducing into this upcoming song?


GB: Releasing electronic music under my own name has been something I’ve been wanting to do since I was 12 years old. This track is called Lunar- it’s a super high energy deep house track with a catchy bass line and it represents the idea of space. The idea of space represents potential. I have such big dreams and aspirations to play at the best clubs in Ibiza, the US, and all over the world. This track represents that potential I have and how much I can accomplish. It’s super spacy, inspiring, and melodic.


Ben: I like that idea of space representing potential. You mentioned that you’ve played a lot of clubs. How many shows have you done so far? What was your favorite?


GB: Since moving to LA, I’ve played over 25 shows. I’ve played at some of the best nightclubs: Hyde Sunset, Nightingale, Bootsy Bellows, The Globe Theater, Catch One. My biggest show so far was for an audience of 1,300 people and that was super fun. To be honest, a lot of these shows I wasn’t exactly playing all the music I wanted to play myself. It would be a mix of electronic and Top 40. I’m super excited to start playing real electronic music. Next week I’m playing a rave with Diablo who’s a pretty popular DJ out here in LA. Later in April, I’ll be playing a Joshua Tree set, which will be a more intimate Ibiza vibe with around 200 people.


Ben: That sounds amazing being in Joshua Tree connecting to nature while you're vibing to paradise electro music. Definitely a soothing energy.


GB: For sure. I’m also gonna be dropping a series with a bunch of my DJ friends here at USC in LA where we record sets with nice views- one of them in Joshua Tree and another in the mountains of Hollywood. Definitely be on the lookout for that and lots of new music!


Ben: I’ll definitely be on the lookout for that, sounds super vibey. Are you looking to work on new music with vocalists?


GB: Yes for sure.


Ben: What Kind Of vocalists? What kind of style and energy are you looking for in collaborations?


GB: I like working with female vocalists because they work better with my tracks. I look for melodic ambient vocals in a singer because I like the catchy, ambient and spacey vibes the vocals emulate.


Ben: Well I’m definitely looking forward to hearing your music when it comes out and thanks for doing this interview!


GB: Thank you so much for having me!


32 views0 comments
bottom of page