top of page
  • newmusicmuse

Genre Bending Indie Artist Hadji Gaviota Releases Energetic New Single "Boi"

Updated: Mar 17, 2023

Hadji Gaviota is a New York based artist with a refreshing experimental approach to his music. His melodic flows are funky and fun (Put The L in The Style!, I'm bored, Hittin Different, GOOFY!) and vulnerable (Runner's High, Ain't Over You). His most recent single 'boi' explores his inner thoughts when being in the presence of snobby clout chasers. It's simultaneously an eye opening track infused with humor, a skill Gaviota never fails to embrace within his music, enhancing the listening experience (see visual below for 'boi').




You have a new release titled “boi” can you share the inspiration behind this new song?


Something about being in entertainment really makes certain people feel like they need to brag, name drop, and clout chase during every conversation. So "boi" is the things I'm thinking in my head while I smile and nod through conversations like these. I love music because I can use it as an outlet to say things I probably wouldn't say in person.

What changes do you think you’ve adopted in terms of style and sound through your new releases such as “boi” “i love smoking mid” and “i’m bored”?




I promise once people hear the whole album they'll be able to see how those songs can live in the same world. But the exciting and scary thing about releasing singles is that I like to jump genres, so somebody who really likes rap stuff might like "i'm bored" and then be like "what is this?" when the next single drops. But there are people who will be excited about not knowing what the next one will sound like too. Hopefully I can gain people's trust so they'll know I'd never give them something that isn't up to quality.

What motivates you the most about being an independent musician?


I don't care if I'm independent or not, I want people to hear my music haha. But as someone who is independent right now, I care a lot about making smart partnerships that make sense for everyone involved and work towards a common goal. And that goal is getting this music heard, going on tour, meeting my fans in person, and making even more cool stuff.

What can fans expect from upcoming unreleased hadji gaviota songs?

My album is dropping and they'll get to hear it sooner than they think! Expect some fun stuff, but don't expect the new songs to sound like the last 3 haha. They're all pretty different.



--

interview conducted by: Ben Wego, Creator of NewMusicMuse

4 views0 comments
bottom of page