top of page
  • newmusicmuse

The Final Girl, Eva Rose

Updated: Mar 14, 2023

Eva Rose is an indie alt pop artist originally from Los Angeles and now based in New York City. Her empowering breakup anthems intertwine the zesty styles of Paramore and Avril Lavigne with the sentiment of beabadoobee and Clairo.


Listen To Eva Rose's new EP Everything You Wish For here: https://levelmusic.lnk.to/EverythingYouWishFor

Watch the Music Video For Revisionist History Here:



You currently have a new EP titled Everything You Wish For, what’s the story behind the title? 

The title actually comes from a line in the bridge of one of my singles, Happy Belated. When I look at the EP as a complete piece, the concept of all these songs is wishing for something you currently don't have or something that you once had that was lost. For example, the first track I Don’t Care is about wishing for someone who’s hurt to get their karma.Waiting for Saturn is about wishing for answers from the universe. Revisionist History is about wishing for reconciliation, etc. 


Final Girl is now your most streamed song Spotify. It’s a song about how an ex lover is metaphorically a serial killer and you’re the last living victim like in a slasher flick. Can you share how you got this creative idea for the track? 


I had the title Final Girl written in my notes for a few months because I was always intrigued by the horror film trope and decided to save it as an idea for a song. I’m also one of those people who watches too many true crime and serial killer shows, so I thought it would be an interesting narrative to explore. Even though the story of the song is fictional, I think many people can relate to the feeling of finding out the person you’ve been dating is not really who they said they were. 


How many shows have you done so far? What was your favorite? 

This past year I’ve done about 8 shows, and this coming year I definitely want to do more! By far my favorite show was a Halloween show I did at Mercury Lounge supporting my friend (and also an awesome artist) Rachel Bochner. My band and I dressed up as Slytherines from Harry Potter for the show. Seeing the audience in costumes was also a lot of fun to see.



What motivates you the most as an independent musician?


I think what motivates me the most is the opportunities to connect with others, listeners and other artists, especially. Being an artist can sometimes feel very confusing and lonely at times so knowing there are others sharing your journey and people on the other side of the streams is a huge motivator to continue.




14 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page